The government of the United States of America has passed a number of laws and regulations in order to improve the living situation of the disadvantaged social groups especially people with disabilities. Examples of laws related to disability are listed below: 

  • The American with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) 

    • It is a civil rights law that inhibits any types of discrimination against individuals with disabilities in public areas, such as schools, hospitals, transportation, and public recreation centers.

    • Purpose: The purpose of this law is to make sure that disabled people can receive the same rights and treatment as others do. It provides protection to individuals with disabilities similar to those provided to individuals on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin, age, and religion. It ensures equal opportunities for individuals with disabilities in public accommodations, employment, transportation, employment, transportation, and state and local government services. 

    • It was divided into 5 different titles that related to public life. 

  • The American with Disabilities Act Amendments Act (ADAAA) 

    • Made significant changes to ADA and remodified the definition of disability 

      • Title I: Equal Employment Opportunity for Individuals with Disabilities (Employment) 

      • Title II: Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Disability in State and Local Government Services (State and Local Government) 

      • Title III: Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Disability by Public Accommodations and in Commercial Facilities (Public Accommodations) 

      • Title IV: Telecommunications

      • Title V: Miscellaneous Provisions   

  •  Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 

    • IDEA is the law that guarantees free and appropriate public education to children with disabilities throughout the country and supervises related services to these children. It governs the procedure of early intervention, special education, and related services to more than 6.5 million eligible infants and children.

      • Infants, birth through age 2, receive early intervention services under IDEA Part C

      • Children, ages 3 through 21, receive special education and related services under IDEA Part B 

  • The Rehabilitation Act of 1973

    • A law that prohibits disability discrimination and is divided into three sections 

      • Section 501

        • prohibits federal agencies from discriminating against qualified individuals with disabilities in employment. It also requires these agencies to take affirmative action in hiring, placing and advancing of individuals with disabilities. 

      • Section 503

        • prohibits employment discrimination based on disability and requires affirmative action in the hiring, placement and advancement of people with disabilities by federal contractors or subcontractors.

        • Contractors and subcontractors that have a contract with the Federal Government for $10,000 or more annually must take affirmative action to employ and advance in employment qualified individuals with disabilities. 

      • Section 504 

        • prohibits recipients of federal financial assistance from discriminating against qualified individuals with disabilities in employment and in their programs and activities. Each federal agency has its own set of Section 504 regulations that apply to its particular programs.

    • For more information please click: here